Forty Days of Yoga…Can I Inspire You?

Image

Welcome to Ramblings of a yogi Mum (yes a small ‘y’ for ‘yogi’ and a capital ‘M’ for ‘Mum’ – if your a parent you will understand the meaning of this!).

I love yoga, I teach yoga, I own a yoga studio, I have done yoga off and on for over 15 years. However since giving birth to my son 2 years ago its been more off than on.

I am reading a wonderful book called ‘Forty Days of Yoga’ by Kara-Leah Grant, who resides in NZ! Her book is about breaking down the barriers to a home yoga practice…pretty sure most of you at this point will be nodding your head in understanding and if your a mum that does (or used to do) yoga you’ll be nodding your whole body in understanding.

Why do we have so much resistance to doing yoga at home. I KNOW I ALWAYS feel better after doing yoga, my body thanks me, my mind thanks me and no doubt my husband and my toddler thank me silently as it really helps me to be a calmer more loving person…so why the resistance?

Kara – Leah’s book is a workbook that well…helps you to cut through your crap to put it bluntly. You come face to face with your unconscious, your excuses, your beliefs, your self-limitations and work through blockages that stop you from doing yoga at home.

My biggest excuse was time…I don’t have enough time…I have a toddler…I had a bad night with my son last night and am too tired…It’s too cold to get out of bed….sound familiar? I could never work out how I could fit in my pre-baby yoga routine of around 1 hour into my already seemingly packed day except for setting the alarm for one hour before my son woke up which to be honest was just not going to happen.

However Kara – Leah talks about doing a minimum of 7 MINUTES A DAY she states: “Yes, seven minutes a day. That’s how long it takes to connect to your breath and drop into the state of being that is Yoga”.

Now those of you that are cynics or yogi gurus will be shaking your head in disbelief – how on earth could that be possible? Well I challenge you to try it. In fact I challenge all of you to try it.

7 minutes minimum of concentrated, conscious, calm –  breathing, yoga or meditation.  Being really truly present, uniting your body, your breath and your mind…this is yoga.

At the beginning of the yoga classes that I teach, I get all the students to sit quietly and develop conscious breathing (Ujjayi Breathing being the yogi term for this). They come into class out of breath, rushing, tired, stressed, busy minds, busy bodies and I ask them to sit and concentrate on their breathing for probably 3 to 4 minutes. In this time I see a transformation occur, they become more relaxed – their shoulders drop, their faces relax and of course their breathing deepens. When they open their eyes they seem to be ‘seeing’ differently. If you don’t believe me try it yourself.

So I am committing to doing 40 Days of Yoga at home starting on June 17th. I will blog my progress so please subscribe to my blog if you are interested in reading about my journey. Mostly though I would like to inspire YOU to join me on this journey. I will be there with you every step of the way. NO MORE EXCUSES…Let’s do it together.

12 thoughts on “Forty Days of Yoga…Can I Inspire You?

  1. Darling, this is beautiful. Congrats on the birth of your blog! It is such a treat to see your words in print again. ‘From little things, big things grow’ Much love, Sherron

  2. Good luck! I have also read Kara-Leah’s 40 days (as well as blogging through it), and I can tell you it was totally transformational! Have a wonderful time xx

Leave a Reply

